Our Committee Members

Jenni Webber


Jenni is the Assistant Principal at Berry Springs Primary School with the Department of Education and is the current President of PTANT. Jenni leads the management committee with excitement and passion, enhancing member associations’ important work to grow NT educators professional capacity and strengthen student learning.

Jenni is an executive member of the Science Teachers’ Association of the NT (STANT) and also the Treasurer for the Australian Science Teachers Association (ASTA).  Jenni has been active across a range of professional associations throughout her career, with a focus on science in the last 10 years. 

Jenni’s passion is science, sustainability and environmental education, supporting staff and students to engage with local environments.  She is a strong advocate for the integration of Indigenous Knowledge and Western Science to make meaning of and to care for our shared landscapes.


Pam Adam

Vice President

Pam is an Assistant Principal at Wanguri Primary School in Darwin and the Vice President of PTANT.

For many years Pam has held a number of key positions on the executive of the Australian Literacy Educators Association (ALEA), Top End Council, including president and attends the ALEA National Conferences each year. She follows up from these conferences by sharing her learning with colleagues and advocating and promoting best practice in literacy teaching to improve student outcomes.

Her passion is to mentor and coach teachers to improve their skills and knowledge and provide ongoing professional learning in literacy.



Rebecca Johnson

Rebecca Johnson


Rebecca is the Senior Manager, Partnerships and Programs (Curriculum) with the Department of Education, she is the current Treasurer for PTANT and she works closely with the Executive Officer.

Rebecca is also the Treasurer for the Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (ACHPER) NT branch, Rebecca has been on the ACHPER executive since 2000.

Rebecca’s passion is health education; upskilling teachers and school staff with knowledge, strategies and confidence to deliver up to date, evidence based health education for all NT students.





Rebecca Johnson

Leonard Freeman


Leonard Freeman is the Secretary for PTANT and currently works as an English Second Language Consultant in the Northern Territory. Leonard has worked in Indigenous community schools in the Northern Territory as a classroom teacher, teacher-linguist and school principal (2005-2014). Leonard has Masters of Applied Linguistics (TESOL) from Charles Darwin University and is the President of ATESOL NT (2011-current).

Leonard recently completed a thesis as part of Masters of Education (International) at CDU. In February, Leonard presented the findings of his research at the International Conference on Language Policy in Multicultural and Multilingual settings in Mandalay, Myanmar. At CDU's 2016 graduation ceremony for the faculty of Law, Education, Business and Arts, Leonard was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal for achieving the highest grade point average.

Leonard is passionate about working in partnership with Indigenous communities to maintain their locally distinctive languages, cultural values and identity, while also teaching and learning English as an Additional Language or Dialect.

Gayle Raymond

Executive Member

Gayle is the English as a Second Language (Urban) Consultant with School Support Services, Department of Education. Gayle is an Executive member of PTANT, a new role for her.

Gayle has been an active member of the Association of Teachers of English to Speakers of other Languages NT (ATESOL NT) for many years, holding the role of President and Vice President and is currently the Secretary for ATESOL NT.

Gayle’s professional interests are strongly about celebrating diversity in NT education; access and equity for all to achieve in formal education. She believes teachers have the will to meet the needs of all their students, but require professional learning to grow their expertise and knowledge of effective English as an Additional Language/Dialect teaching and learning.

Virg Hughes

Executive Member

Virg is the Associate Principal, Nemarluk School. She is the current Treasurer for AASE NT, National Treasurer and  a National Councillor.  She has been a member of AASE since 2004 and involved as Executive member including Secretary and Treasurer roles since 2006. Virg has been part of the National Executive / Council on and off since 2005.

Virg’s passion is in Special Education; education of students who have disability, supporting teachers to cater for students with disability, through sharing knowledge and strategies.


Lvl 11, Mitchell Centre. 55-59 Mitchell Street
Darwin NT 0801

Phone: 08 8944 9324

ABN: 463 302 816 41